# **Argyll and Bute Community Planning Partnership**

Oban, Lorn and the Isles
Area Community Planning Group

8th May 2019



# Procedure to Elect Office Bearers to the Oban, Lorn and the Isles Area Community Planning Group

## **Summary**

The report notifies the Group that the current Chair has served two consecutive terms of office and stood down in April 2019. The procedure which must be followed when electing either a Chair or Vice Chair to the Oban, Lorn and the Isles Area Community Planning Group is also outlined and the report suggests that the Group proceed to elect a new Chair.

## 1. Purpose

1.1 The purpose of this report is to advise members of the procedure which must be followed when electing office bearers to the Oban, Lorn and the Isles Area Community Planning Group and suggests that the Group follow this procedure in order to appoint a new Chair.

## 2. Recommendations

2.1 Members are requested to follow the procedures outlined below when electing a member to fill the position of Chair, a position which has become vacant as the current Chair has stood down.

## 3. Background

- 3.1 The Oban, Lorn and the Isles Area Community Planning Group is governed by Terms of Reference which detail the procedures to be followed when electing office bearers.
- 3.2 The previous Chair, Margaret Adams, Ardchattan Community Council, served two consecutive terms of office and in accordance with the approved Terms of Reference, stood down in advance of the May 2019 meeting.

## 4. Detail

- 4.1 The following extract from the Oban, Lorn and the Isles Area CPG Terms of Reference outlines the process which must be followed once an office bearer comes to the end of their term of office:
  - The Chair and Vice Chair of the Oban, Lorn and the Isles Area Community Planning Group will be elected by the members of the group and will be appointed for a period of two years.
  - The outgoing Chair and Vice Chair can stand for reelection at the end of the two year period.
  - However, no one person can serve in the role of Chair or Vice Chair for more than two consecutive two year periods.
  - Nominations for the Chair and Vice Chair positions will be proposed and seconded by Oban, Lorn and the Isles Area Community Planning Group members. Each member will have one vote and a simple majority vote will determine the outcome of the election process.

## 5. Conclusions

Members are requested to follow the procedure outlined above and elect a new chair of the Group.

## 6. 0 SOA Outcomes

N/A relates to a procedural matter

#### Name of Lead Officer

Shirley MacLeod, Area Governance Manager

**For further information please contact:** Melissa Stewart, Area Governance Officer, Argyll and Bute Council (Tel No. 01546 604331)